Snapshot – Feijoada

Mmm. Feijoada.

Mmm. Feijoada.

After Max left I met up with an old friend and we headed up to Santa Teresa for lunch. Being in Rio, we of course had to eat ‘feijoada’, a Brazilian dish made of refried beans, rice, and a curious selection of animal cuts including ears, tail, hooves, sausage and more. It comes in a smoking cauldron-like thing, which all adds to the magic of it.

This was my second feijoada, and it was better than the first, mainly because the first was more authentic. That may sound strange, that the more authentic version tastes worse, but it’s true. This is because authentic feijoada contains all kinds of disgusting (to my taste) cuts of animal. Why? Because in the past it would have been unthinkable to waste the animal’s ear, or its hooves, or any part of it for that matter. So they threw them into a cauldron to see what came out. In the feijoada you buy in the tourist restaurants they will probably use high-quality meat, and when I say ‘meat’ I mean just that; no tongues nor balls nor eyeballs.

The restaurant in Santa Teresa where I had my less authentic feijoada.

The restaurant in Santa Teresa where I had my less authentic feijoada.

February 2012

Leave a Reply

